Scripture and Universalism: A Clarification

Dear friends,

I want to be clear about something. Universalism makes the most sense of  the Bible to me; however, it does not to everyone. That is fine. I would trouble you with nothing more than to avoid what has been strangled with blood or sacrificed to idols and to abstain from sexual immorality.

In other words, I realize looking back on my previous post that I spoke quite harshly in several respects. I am sorry for that. Christian eschatology is a very tough and touchy subject, and, if we’re being 100% honest, the Bible is not necessarily crystal clear itself as to the “physics” of eschatology. It is fine for one to be a Calvinist, and there are absolutely understandings of Calvinism that do not make God out to be wicked. It is fine for one to be an Arminian, and there are certainly approaches to Arminianism that find a victory for God even in the lostness of one of his creatures. I do not have a problem with Calvinist or Arminian approaches to living out the kingdom that actually result in just that–living out the kingdom.

What I lack respect for is the kind of “religion” that Jesus so adamantly opposed, a largely skewed interpretation of the Scriptures that results in a lifestyle of practical atheism. I loathe the religion that says in its heart, “There is no god.”

In my case, I have come to a point in which the best moral and intellectual framework that I am capable of exercising forbids my conscience from accepting non-universalist approaches to Christian eschatology. Do I think that everyone deserves heaven? I would argue that that is the wrong question. A better question is this: how will the Almighty God of Love resolve the disobedience in the creation? I think that Paul answers that question for us.

Therefore, as one trespass led to condemnation for all men, so one act of righteousness leads to justification and life for all men. For as by the one man’s disobedience the many were made sinners, so by the one man’s obedience the many will be made righteous. (Romans 5:18-19)

“For God has consigned all to disobedience, that he may have mercy on all.” (Rom. 11:32)

In my view, we cannot put a limit on a loving God.

*********************

Could I be wrong? Absolutely. Should it change our response to the crucified God? Absolutely not.

Leave a Reply

