The Shouting Skies: Meditations of a Young Scientist

I am a chemistry student studying for my Ph.D. My research interests primarily include polymer (plastic) solar cell development and the selective binding of lanthanide/actinide elements.

One Psalm that really bothered me in my undergraduate days reads like this: “The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork. Day to day pours out speech, and night to night reveals knowledge. There is no speech, nor are there words, whose voice is not heard.” (Psalm 19:1-3 ESV.) In those days, I would gaze at the sky, begging God to be real. The Psalmist told me that the sky proclaims God’s handiwork, but I just couldn’t see it then. Maybe the skies were lying, or worse, silent. Maybe ‘God’ was just a sick card played by an already troubled deck. It was in my darkest hour that the hope of ‘eternal life’ found me again.

Now, I cannot look at the sky, or a molecule, or DNA, or the sea, or listen to a piano, a guitar, or a violin, without experiencing God. The heavens do declare the majesty of God. The skies do scream his name. May his name be written on our hearts and paved into our lives.

Leave a Reply

